2016 Greene Prize winners announced!

Posted by on May 27, 2016
2016 Greene Prize winners announced!


The Center for Energy and Environmental Research in the Human Sciences (CENHS) at Rice University is delighted to announce the winners of the 2016 Greene Prize for Environmental Writing.

Endowed by the family of alumnus David Greene (’93), the Greene Prize was established in 1998 to encourage the creation, dissemination, and recognition of original environmental writing by students at Rice. In 2016, the competition was expanded to include Rice graduate students for the first time, with the aim of offering prizes at both the undergraduate and graduate level to reward excellence in environmental writing. All Greene Prize submissions this year were nominated by Rice faculty who taught courses with substantial environmental content. Nominations included outstanding coursework, thesis projects, research reports and writing oriented toward a public audience. According to the Greene Prize jury, it was a nomination pool of remarkable depth, diversity and all around excellence.

And the winners are…

The undergraduate prize will be shared by co-winners Emmy Funk and Ella Matsuda. Emmy won for an essay in environmental sociology titled, “Understanding Human Inequality Through the Application Marx’s Theory of the Metabolic Rift” and Ella for a work of conversation biology, “World’s Richest Hotspot for Plant Diversity is Losing its Seed-Dispersers; Patterns of Frugivore Diversity, Threat and Conservation Priority in Madagascar.”

The graduate prize will likewise be shared by the authors of two outstanding projects. Ethan Agrawal, Quazi Rasool and Amanda San Miguel will receive an award for their business plan, “Plan for Rice University to Convert All Lights in McMurtry College to LED Lights.” Magnús Örn Sigurðsson will receive an award for his theoretical essay, “An Ecology of Time Travelling: Digging for Social Complexities in the Anthropocene.”

In addition to the winners, the Greene Prize jury wishes to acknowledge four other remarkable projects for Honorable Mention status. These are:

• Monica Charletta, Jessica Griffiths, Hunter Kopycinski, Josh Morse, and Michael Rodgers for “Improving the High-Rise Life”
• Sophia Erhard, Sasha Figel, Emily Foxman, Danya Kachkou, and Elise Naticchia for “Love Food, Hate Waste: Analyzing Food Waste and Reduction at Rice University”
• Maureen Haver for “Solar Gridlock: (Em)Powering the (Im)Possible”
• Loredana Suciu, “Modeling atmospheric lifetimes of organic markers for biomass burning: Implications for air quality and climate”

Please keep an eye out on the CENHS blog (http://culturesofenergy.com) in the weeks to come for a series of short articles based on the prizewinning submissions!