2017 Greene Prize winners announced!

Posted by on May 31, 2017
2017 Greene Prize winners announced!

The Center for Energy and Environmental Research in the Human Sciences (CENHS) at Rice University is delighted to announce the winners of the 2017 Greene Prize for Environmental Writing.

Endowed by the family of alumnus David Greene (’93), the Greene Prize was established in 1998 to encourage the creation, dissemination, and recognition of original environmental writing by students at Rice. In 2016, the competition was expanded to include Rice graduate students for the first time, with the aim of offering prizes at both the undergraduate and graduate level to reward excellence in environmental writing. This year we are pleased to offer two prizes at the undergraduate level, with one focusing on environmental sciences and the other on environmental humanities. All Greene Prize submissions this year were nominated by Rice faculty who taught courses with substantial environmental content. Nominations included outstanding coursework, creative writing, thesis projects, research reports and writing oriented toward a public audience. According to the Greene Prize jury, it was a nomination pool of remarkable depth, diversity and all around excellence.

And the winners are…

Elaine Shen wins the undergraduate environmental sciences prize for an essay on tropical ecosystems and conservation management titled, “A Cautionary Tale: Protecting the World’s Tropical Wildlife” focusing on the work of Rice Professor Amy Dunham’s lab in Guam and Madagascar.

The undergraduate environmental humanities prize goes to Marley Foster for a paper on narratives and ellipses concerning oil in American culture titled, “Moving Beyond Peak Oil: An Examination of How to Narrativize Oil as a Political Practice.”

Maureen Haver wins the graduate prize for a work of speculative fiction, “New Eden,” a haunting portrait of human/nonhuman relations in a dystopian future following environmental catastrophe.

In addition to the winners, the Greene Prize jury wishes to acknowledge four other remarkable projects for Honorable Mention status. These are:

• Alex Addy, Collin Allen, Emma Baker, Christen Smajstrla, and Jayson Taylor for their video, “Welcome to Rice (Class of 2052)”
• Annie Culver for “Material Feminism, Environmental Justice, and Digital Sites of Resistance: Figuring the Cyborg Activist”
• Alyssa Graham, Carolina Sampson and Peter Szemraj for “Incorporating On-Site Renewables at the Barbara and David Gibbs Recreation and Wellness Center”
• Amy Kuritzky for “Theorizing an Alliance between Western Science and Indigenous Knowledges”

Please keep an eye out on the CENHS blog (http://culturesofenergy.com) in the weeks to come for a series of short articles based on the prizewinning submissions!